LITTLE GIRL GONE by Gerry Schmitt

Little Girl Gone (An Afton Tangler Thriller #1)
LITTLE GIRL GONE by Gerry Schmitt
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

LITTLE GIRL GONE (not “Little Gone Girl,” as I keep seeing it!) is a fantastic start to the Afton Tangler series. It’s a different kind of mystery/thriller, as in it’s more of a whydunit than a whodunit, which I liked very much. I loved Afton’s character. She’s a family liaison officer for the police department, though slowing working toward becoming a detective.

Afton is assigned to the case of a kidnapped baby girl as a social worker, but she ends up tagging along with a seasoned detective named Max to help solve the case. Afton is a tough, strong, and very brave woman, and I’d totally want her on my side if I was in trouble.

The story is told from different points of view, including the bad guys. It was quite interesting and disturbing to get inside their heads too. This was a suspenseful, exciting, page-turner for me. I stayed up until the wee hours fighting off sleep so I could find out how it ends. Nice combination of police procedural and suspense. Enjoyed it!

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.