SINCE SHE WENT AWAY by David J. Bell

Since She Went Away
SINCE SHE WENT AWAY by David J. Bell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Secrets and betrayal in small town Kentucky! David Bell pulled me into his latest cleverly crafted mystery with a tension-filled opening and kept me guessing until the end.

Two life-long friends, Jenna and Celia, plan to meet at midnight at a local park. Jenna shows up, but Celia never does, and now she’s been missing for months. Meanwhile, Jenna’s teenage son Jared has fallen for the mysterious new girl in town. She’s very secretive and has an uber-strict father, which worries Jared. Then suddenly, she disappears too.

I enjoyed trying to figure out how the two story lines would intersect. My heart went out to Jenna and Jared, who were good people forced into a terrible situation. The townspeople, internet, and even a relentless crime show host all have their opinions about who to blame, and that takes its toll on the main characters.

There were lots of twists in this book, different ways the mystery could have played out, and in the end I was shocked at who the culprit was. I thought the book ended too abruptly though, would like to have heard the reactions of the characters over what was revealed. What happened to everyone in the aftermath?

I always enjoy David Bell’s relatable characters and complex mysteries. Looking forward to his next book!

Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

