Gothic Fiction Reading Challenge 2016

{Background image is from the New York Public Library.}

{Background image is from the New York Public Library.}

I’ve searched high and low for a Gothic reading challenge going on this year, but to no avail. So, I decided to throw one together for myself. As far as reading challenges go, I’m not sure how much interest there would be in a year-long Gothic one, but anyone is welcome to join me. Maybe next year I’ll make it official and post the challenge earlier. :-)

Basically, this is a way for me to track the books I read in this genre. I’m aiming to read at least twelve throughout the year. What is a Gothic novel? I found good explanations HERE and HERE. I usually consider a book Gothic based on the overall feeling it gives me. If it’s iffy, I’ll probably add it to the list anyway. ;-)

Here are several Goodread’s Listopia lists with examples of Gothic novels:

If you’d like to join me for this challenge, simply grab the badge for your own blog post and/or add your reviews to the “Linky” below. Having your own blog is not a requirement! You can keep track of the Gothic books you read on Goodreads, LibraryThing, Pinterest etc., or anywhere else you’d like. Jump in anytime throughout 2016!



Books I read for this challenge:

1. WAIT TILL HELEN COMES by Mary Downing Hahn
2. THE WOMAN IN BLACK by Susan Hill
3. THE GATES OF EVANGELINE by Hester Young
4. WE HAVE ALWAYS LIVED IN THE CASTLE by Shirley Jackson
5. THE EVENING SPIDER by Emily Arsenault
6. STILL MINE by Amy Stuart
7. IN A DARK, DARK WOOD by Ruth Ware
8. ALL THINGS CEASE TO APPEAR by Elizabeth Brundage
9. LOST AMONG THE LIVING by Simone St. James
10. JUNE by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
11. MISTS OF MOURNING by Suzanne Somers
12. A DARK AND STORMY MURDER by Julia Buckley
13. THE HOUSE BETWEEN TIDES by Sarah Maine
14. ARROWOOD by Laura McHugh
15. THE PROPHET by Amanda Stevens
16. THE LOST GIRLS by Heather Young
17. INK AND BONE by Lisa Unger
18. JANE STEELE by Lyndsay Faye
19. THE LAKE HOUSE by Kate Morton
20. THE TAXIDERMIST’S DAUGHTER by Kate Mosse
21. THE VISITOR by Amanda Stevens
22. THE SINNER by Amanda Stevens
23. NAMED OF THE DRAGON by Susanna Kearsley
24. THE SHIMMERING ROAD by Hester Young



♠ Share Your Gothic Fiction Reviews ♠

Optional – Link up reviews for this challenge using Mister Linky below. (Links to Goodreads reviews are fine too!)

42 thoughts on “Gothic Fiction Reading Challenge 2016

  1. Diana, this is good. However, I’m not really doing challenges so I won’t join in. Good luck to you though. I read a lot of books that would fit into your definition and love them. :-)

  2. I’ve been staying away from challenges because I know I’m not doing good with them, lol. Still, this sounds like a fun one and what a great idea, too! :-)

    • I used to go crazy with challenges, but never did very well at completing them – I understand! I want to read more Modern Gothics this year, so I’m hoping this challenge will help give me an extra push.

  3. You have been missing mine for two years at least: “My Kind Of Mystery” and possibly “Ethereal“! While not called gothic or paranormal, I made them both because I too, noticed a lack of what I love to read best – for grownups. You can count me in yours and I would love to have you in mine. There was a gothic hostess last year but she appeared to have deleted her group by the time I returned to link-up. Wasn’t you I don’t think. I need more folks to know about my circles. I stick with them.

    Looking forward to sharing our love of gothic and properly ethereal reading with you, Diana Leigh! How awesomely convenient that you’re on WordPress too. Your sister hostess, Carolyn. https://cmriedel.wordpress.com/riedel-challenges-2016/

  4. The first time I wrote about lack of non-horror, ghost and gothic fiction with adult heroines, was exactly four years ago in 2012. You would relate to the first half! I segue into a non-gothic author who had frustrated me but I’d like you to see it. The ‘like button’ was hit but there were no comments, as one of my first posts and my blog just starting to gather subscribers. Give it the light of day, will you? Hehehe. http://cmriedel.wordpress.com/2012/01/21/what-i-like-to-read/

    • I, too, favor those vintage Gothic novels from the 60s-80s. I have amassed quite a collection of them (thanks to eBay). I’m hoping this reading challenge will push me to make more time to read them. They have to compete with all the new suspense/thrillers being released, after all! So many books…

      • Well now if that lonely post waiting since 2012 could finally begin to receive comments, I will look forward to a note there! Yes, I’m relieved new stuff is finally coming out and have all those oldies to read through. You & I will compare notes!

  5. Love Gothic stories, especially Gothic mysteries (many of them are labeled historical mystery, but you can always tell by the feel, when one is in the Gothic vein!). The Woman in Black is a wonderful choice, I adored it!

    • The Woman in Black was good. I enjoyed it! The author did a great job making you think the book was written long ago. I saw that there’s a sequel written by someone else. Not sure if I’d be interested in that.

  6. Where have you been all my life! I LOVE Gothic lit! I have a Goodreads shelf titled “Gothic/Victorian Literature” I already read Rebecca this year, and am about to start Jamaica Inn, so I think both of those count…and I’ve been wanting to read a whole bunch more Gothic lit this year. I’ve read a ton of Kate Morton, I’d say she’s kind of modern Gothic…and I recently bought Wolf Winter, from the blurb it sounds gothy :)

    • Hey, Country Bookworm! Yay, I’m so excited to meet other Gothic fiction lovers. I’ve read one book by Kate Morton – The Secret Keeper – and I absolutely loved it. I have many more books of hers on my shelves waiting to be read, plus I need to read more by Daphne du Maurier. Rebecca was amazing!

  7. oh…oh… OMG!!!! I’m giggling! a gothic reading challenge! YES! I think Edgar Allan Poe was my favorite author when I was FIVE!!! (omg what does that say about me??? LOL) Thanks a lot for hosting this challenge Diana! I’m in! I just got Miss Peregrine. So hopefully that’ll be my first review for this challenge. I already tried to read it once and abandoned it but since the movie is coming up this year I thought to give it another try :)

    • Yay! Thanks for joining. :-) I enjoyed reading Miss Peregrine, looking forward to the movie too. The old pictures in the book were the best! I love vintage photos, and his idea about writing a book around those photos was clever. I still need to read the next two books in the series…

    • Great idea! I should have done that to begin with. I added a Linky at the bottom of this post for reviews. I’ll work on letting the other participants know. Thanks!

  8. Okay Diana, I did some research into titles I would want to get and decided to join your challenge. My post of 2/4/16 talks about my decision and some of my possible reads that I already have now. Thanks for getting me to turn to a genre that was once a favorite of mine a very long time ago. I can’t guarantee how many I’ll read, but I’ll give it a try :)

Comments are closed.