Gothic Fiction Reading Challenge 2016

{Background image is from the New York Public Library.}

{Background image is from the New York Public Library.}

I’ve searched high and low for a Gothic reading challenge going on this year, but to no avail. So, I decided to throw one together for myself. As far as reading challenges go, I’m not sure how much interest there would be in a year-long Gothic one, but anyone is welcome to join me. Maybe next year I’ll make it official and post the challenge earlier. :-)

Basically, this is a way for me to track the books I read in this genre. I’m aiming to read at least twelve throughout the year. What is a Gothic novel? I found good explanations HERE and HERE. I usually consider a book Gothic based on the overall feeling it gives me. If it’s iffy, I’ll probably add it to the list anyway. ;-)

Here are several Goodread’s Listopia lists with examples of Gothic novels:

If you’d like to join me for this challenge, simply grab the badge for your own blog post and/or add your reviews to the “Linky” below. Having your own blog is not a requirement! You can keep track of the Gothic books you read on Goodreads, LibraryThing, Pinterest etc., or anywhere else you’d like. Jump in anytime throughout 2016!



Books I read for this challenge:

1. WAIT TILL HELEN COMES by Mary Downing Hahn
2. THE WOMAN IN BLACK by Susan Hill
3. THE GATES OF EVANGELINE by Hester Young
4. WE HAVE ALWAYS LIVED IN THE CASTLE by Shirley Jackson
5. THE EVENING SPIDER by Emily Arsenault
6. STILL MINE by Amy Stuart
7. IN A DARK, DARK WOOD by Ruth Ware
8. ALL THINGS CEASE TO APPEAR by Elizabeth Brundage
9. LOST AMONG THE LIVING by Simone St. James
10. JUNE by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
11. MISTS OF MOURNING by Suzanne Somers
12. A DARK AND STORMY MURDER by Julia Buckley
13. THE HOUSE BETWEEN TIDES by Sarah Maine
14. ARROWOOD by Laura McHugh
15. THE PROPHET by Amanda Stevens
16. THE LOST GIRLS by Heather Young
17. INK AND BONE by Lisa Unger
18. JANE STEELE by Lyndsay Faye
19. THE LAKE HOUSE by Kate Morton
20. THE TAXIDERMIST’S DAUGHTER by Kate Mosse
21. THE VISITOR by Amanda Stevens
22. THE SINNER by Amanda Stevens
23. NAMED OF THE DRAGON by Susanna Kearsley
24. THE SHIMMERING ROAD by Hester Young



♠ Share Your Gothic Fiction Reviews ♠

Optional – Link up reviews for this challenge using Mister Linky below. (Links to Goodreads reviews are fine too!)