Book Review: THE LOOK OF LOVE by Sarah Jio

LookOfLove
Publisher: Plume
Released: November 25, 2014
Source: Borrowed from the library
Rating: ★★★


Born during a Christmas blizzard, Jane Williams receives a rare gift: the ability to see true love. Jane has emerged from an ailing childhood a lonely, hopeless romantic when, on her twenty-ninth birthday, a mysterious greeting card arrives, specifying that Jane must identify the six types of love before the full moon following her thirtieth birthday, or face grave consequences.

When Jane falls for a science writer who doesn’t believe in love, she fears that her fate is sealed. Inspired by the classic song, The Look of Love is utterly enchanting.


Hmm, I’m not sure about this book. It was a good read, though the story and characters didn’t quite grab me like the other books I’ve read by Sarah Jio. The main character, Jane, has the gift of seeing true love, or perhaps it’s a severe optical/neurological problem like her doctor suspects.

Instructions arrive for Jane from a mysterious woman challenging her to identify the six types of love before her next birthday…or else. So, Jane starts observing those close to her, looking for the different types of love, and at the same time she’s falling for a science writer named Cam who’s not exactly open to her gift.

The premise was fun, and I was curious to see the different types of love that Jane saw. The chapters alternated between the characters who Jane was observing, and I was confused a few times trying to keep everyone straight. Some of the relationships seemed a bit forced or rushed, but I guess it was a challenge fitting in all the types of love. Overall, I thought it was a cute story, though sad in a way too. Love is strange. 3 stars.

12 thoughts on “Book Review: THE LOOK OF LOVE by Sarah Jio

  1. I keep hearing the Burt Bacharach song, sung by Dusty Springfield (retro anyone?), in my head every time I think about picking this one up. I have enjoyed other books by Sarah Jio, so will likely try it at some point.

  2. Thanks for this review, I will leave it I think and read some of her other books. Sounds like she may have tried to do too much.

  3. Diana, great review. I’ve enjoyed this author in the past so will put this on my list.

  4. I loved Goodnight June so I could not wait to read her next book but the premise just not grab me. I’m thinking I’ll do this as an audio instead of a print. I can get past things easier in the audio version for some reason. Thanks for sharing! It sounds like it’s a good read but that I was right to be a bit hesitant.

  5. this cracked me up- or perhaps it’s a severe optical/neurological problem. What an interesting premise to the story and while it didn’t wow you, it does sound different

Comments are closed.